Leeds Beckett University

Leeds Beckett University is one of the largest universities in the country, with around 30,000 students and more than 3,000 staff.
The university has two campuses, one in the city centre of Leeds which is the base for our award winning-buildings the Rose Bowl and Broadcasting Place, and one in the suburb of Headingley which includes state-of-the-art facilities at Headingley Carnegie Stadium.
The current Vice Chancellor, Professor Susan Price, joined in January 2010 and three new deputy Vice Chancellors have been appointed to lead the important areas of strategic development, research and enterprise, and student experience.
Leeds Beckett has a strong history of providing professional and vocational education and responding to the needs of business. The university makes a valuable local and regional contribution whilst maintaining an important national and international dimension to its work.The University offers a diverse range of courses demonstrating its dedication to providing a flexible approach to education and commitment to widening participation.
The university’s origins can be traced back to 1824, with the foundation of the Leeds Mechanics Institute. Leeds Polytechnic was formed in 1970 and was a constituent part of the Leeds Local Education Authority until it became an independent Higher Education Corporation on 1 April 1989. In 1992 the institution was given University status and changed its name to Leeds Metropolitan University.
Quality, Relevance and Sustainability, the university’s new strategic plan, is available online at www.leedsmet.ac.uk/strategicplan
Leeds Beckett University

City Campus


0113 812 0000